News From The Web

Election disaster for Labour’s health team

All of Labour’s health ministers except the health secretary, Andy Burnham, have lost their seats following Thursday’s general election.

Health minister Mike O’Brien lost his seat following a 7.7% swing to the Conservatives. Tory candidate Dan Byles beat Mr O’Brien by just 54 votes in the closely fought marginal of North Warwickshire.

Health ministers Ann Keen and Gillian Merron, and minister for care services Phil Hope, also lost their seats in Brentford and Isleworth, south-west London, Corby and East Northants, and Lincoln, respectively.

Doctors and nurses standing in the 2010 election for the first time also did not fair well.

Dr Sarah Wollaston kept a safe Conservative seat in Totnes, Devon, but the Lib Dems’ Dr Charles West and Labour’s Dr Ian Campbell both lost out to Tory candidates. GP Dr Phillip Lee also won for the Conservatives in Bracknell, Berkshire.

Richard Taylor, who took Wyre Forest in 2001, pledging to fight the downgrading of Kidderminster Hospital, has been defeated by the Conservatives.

Although Conservative Daniel Poulter, an obstetric and gynaecology consultant, has taken over in Suffolk Central and Ipswich North.

In Hexham, Northumberland, independent candidate and GP Dr Stephen Ford came fourth with the Conservative candidate succesfully defending a relatively safe seat.

Former nurse Nadine Dorries kept her safe Conservative seat in Mid-Bedfordshire but nurses Rosie Sharpley (Lib Dem, Woking) Karen Jennings, (Lab, Hornsey and Wood Green, North London) and David Harding-Price (Lib Dem, Sleaford and North Hykeham, Lincolnshire) were all also unsuccessful.

Read more at Healthcare Republic.

Bookmark and Share

Post a Comment

Enter this security code

Submit Comment for Moderation